ALAMO CHAMBER OF COMMERCE BOARD Board Officers Chair: Rolando Espinoza President: Gloria Espinosa VP/Co-Chair: Melina Lerma Treasurer: Keith Hackland Board Members Trino Medina Arturo Espinoza Jorge Escobedo Paola Escalante Laura De La Garza Jesse Vela Leon De Leon Dick Wright Father Rene Angel Comm. Pilar Garza Imelda Gonzalez Herb Moering Office Staff Office Manager: Anazette Cano 803 Main St. Alamo, Texas 78516 956-787-2117 Volunteers: Ann Mostrom Click on the below link to view and printout our Membership Application form:
  • City Government
    Governed by a mayor, four commissioners, and municipal judge, all elected at large. City Manager and secretary appointed. Address: 420 N Tower Rd Alamo, TX 78516 Phone: 956-787-0006 Fax: 956-787-1160 Mayor: Diana Martinez Commissioners: Robert DeLaGarza Pilar Garza Trino Medina Pete Morales City Manager: Luciano Ozuna Jr. Executive Secretary to City Manager: Crystal Garza City Secretary: Margot Saenz City of Alamo Financial: Yvette Mendosa Police Department: Officers and Staff (37) Fire Department: Staff and Volunteers (28) Texas Department of Human Resources Agriculture Department Women, Infants & Children (WIC)
  • Fire Department
    The Alamo Fire Department is located at 125 S. 9th Street under the direction of Chief Rolando Espinoza. The staff consists of the Chief, Fire Inspector, Fire Investigator, 6 certified firefighters, 18 volunteers and a maintenance man. The Department covers approximately 22 miles and is a member of the Rio Grande Regional Emergency Training Alliance. It is also a member of the State Fireman and Fire Marshalls Association of Texas, Rio Grande Valley Fire Investigators Association and is a Certified Red Cross Training Center. The Department offers Inspections to anyone who has a need. The Alamo Fire Department responds to approximately 1000 calls a year. Response time is 5-7 minutes in Alamo and 10 minutes within Hidalgo County. Staff Firefighters must be certified by the Texas Commission on Fire Protection.
  • History
    The Alamo area was originally known as “Agostadero de Alamo” (Pasture of the Cottonwood Trees). A part of Mexico, it was administered from Reynosa, and was rich in wildlife. Karankawa Indians lived here and in the 1700s Spanish land grant recipients started cattle ranching. The land was cleared in the 1920s and Alamo was incorporated in 1924. Thousands of newcomers moved in, mostly farmers from the Midwest and Mexico. Many Alamo families have lived here for three generations. The mix of immigrants from north and south of the Rio Grande has created a unique, enjoyable blend of customs and cultures.
    Picture Courtesy; Keith Hackland
  • Schools
    PHARR-SAN JUAN-ALAMO SCHOOLS PSJA ISD is a progressive school district in the Rio Grande Valley. The district offers an extensive well-rounded curriculum for the students of the PSJA area. PSJA offers a strong academic program for students in all grade levels and the comprehensive curriculum includes Fine Arts, UTL Activities, Career and Technology and Athletics. PSJA’s Advanced Placement Program and the Concurrent Enrollment Program with UTRGV and STC allows students to earn college credits. Alamo schools consist of 4 Elementary Schools, John McKeever, Santos Livas, Marcia R. Garza, Zeferino FariasThere are two Middle Schools, Alamo Middle School Audy Murphy Middle School. There is one High School, PSJA Memorial. The city has one Private School, Valley Christian Heritage School. Idea Public School has grades pre-kinder to 1st, 6-7 middle school and 9-12 high school. The PSJA Memorial Early College High School Film Team was recently named the 2017 State Champions in the UIL Young Filmmakers Documentary Division II category for their tribute documentary For Gomez. PSJA Memorial Early College High School's Technology Club was recently awarded a $5,000 prize after winning the 2017 Ford STEM High School Community Challenge Teachers of the year 2015-2016 Dayana Benavidez Zeferino Farias Elementary Anabel Salinas Marcia R. Garza Elementary Anabel Mendoza Santos Livas Elementary Estella Lucio John McKeever Elementary Roberto Perez Alamo Middle School Nora Garza Audie Murphy Middle School Gilbert Davila PSJA Memorial Early College HS OTHER AREA SCHOOLS PRIVATE SCHOOLS: FULLY ACCREDITED: • Valley Christian Heritage School (preschool through grade 12) • Bethany Christian School VOCATIONAL SCHOOLS: • South Texas Vo-Tech (McAllen, Weslaco) • Texas State Technical College (HARLINGEN) • Knapp Medical Center Vocational Nursing School (Weslaco) UNIVERSITIES: • University of Texas-RGV (Edinburg & Brownsville) • South Texas College (McAllen) • Rio Grande Valley College (Pharr)
  • Miss Alamo Royal Court
    Alamo 2017- Norah Elaine Carden Alamo Princess 2017- Alexia Suarez Alamo Duchess 2017- Savannah Lerma Alamo Ambassador 2017- Vivian Salazar

Alamo Chamber of Commerce © 2017

Designed by Juan Medina